Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Home

Funding/Volunteers | Video and Book Reviews | Join Us | Back Issues
Video and Book Reviews
LINKSLEARNING NEWSLETTER MAY 2003

VIDEO REVIEW
 
By Paul Corman

WINNING AT PARENTING
 
without beating your kids
 
This excellent video features Barbara Coloroso, a highly respected authority and lecturer on child behaviour.  In this funny and poignant presentation, Barbara offers practical suggestions every parent can use in the ongoing dialogue with their children.
Through humorous examples and personal anecdotes she provides insight into family dynamics and offers solutions to every day difficulties. Whether you're supervising homework, getting small ones to bed or taking a call from your teen at the local jail-there's something here you can start using right away.
Winning at Parenting is from the series 'Kids Are Worth It!'. It's just one of the new videos we've acquired for our collection at Links. And of course we have lots of other videos about parenting, special needs, healing and much more.

............................................
 
CHILDREN'S BOOKS
OF THE MONTH
 
by Melanie Burton
 
 

DANGER AT
DEMON'S COVE

Author: KAREN DOLBY
Illustratior:GRAHAM ROUND
Series: USBORNE PUZZLE ADVENTURES
 

This book is great for those young readers who like Clue JR, Pirate Books or mysteries for ages 9-13.
I found this book to be different from others because every page has things like a maze, morse code, maps and much more! It was great because you feel like you actually played a part in solving the mystery and you did! The other good thing is that if you like this one there are two more just like it available at Links To Learning Resource Centre

NATE THE GREAT
AND THE BIG SNIFF

Author:MARJORIE W SHARMAT and MICHELL SHARMAT
Illustrator: MARTHA WESTON
Series: NATE THE GREAT

This is a great series for the 7-9 year old!
This is also a mystery but for younger readers.
The Big Sniff is about Nate the Great losing his pet dog Sludge. Sludge usually helps Nate solve his cases as a Detective but now Sludge is the case!!! Nate has to find him.! He then realizes that Sludge can help him. Find out how by reading Nate the Great and the Big Sniff.

Other books in the series also available at LLRC
 

Nate the Great
Nate the Great and the Monster Mess
Nate the Great goes undercover
Nate the Great San Francisco Detective


WHO WE ARE

Executive Director: Joan Burton
President: Gina Patterson
Treasurer: Fred Carswell
Volunteer Committee: Beth Armstrong
Funding Committee: Eric Burton
Library Committee: Lauren Whyte
Junior Executive Committee: Melanie Burton
Community Committee: Wendy Robson
Members at Large: Wendy McClaren, Erika Grass, Denise Hewitt, Shannon Carswell
Newsletter: Paul Corman

....................................

TO BORROW ANY OF OUR BOOKS, VIDEOS OR GAMES DROP INO THE RESOURCE CENTRE  MONDAY, WEDNESDAY OR SATURDAY DURING OPEN HOURS.